Flamenco Tuesday (16+) Newcastle - Dance City

Choose your venue

Newcastle Sunderland

Flamenco Tuesday (16+) Newcastle

Learn the technique and rhythmic patterns
Adult Class
Newcastle
Dates:
Tue 26 Nov 2019 5:30pm
Tue 03 Dec 2019 5:30pm
Tue 10 Dec 2019 5:30pm
Tue 07 Jan 2020 5:30pm
Tue 14 Jan 2020 5:30pm
Tue 21 Jan 2020 5:30pm
Tue 28 Jan 2020 5:30pm
Tue 04 Feb 2020 5:30pm
Tue 11 Feb 2020 5:30pm
Tue 18 Feb 2020 5:30pm
Class times: Every Tuesday 5.30-6.30pm
About
Targets: arms, legs and posture.

What is it?
Flamenco is a genre of music, song and dance from Andalusia in southern Spain, noted for its energetic, staccato style. There are many theories that explain the meaning of the word flamenco. One commonly accepted version translates flamenco as Spanish for the Flemish soldiers of the Spanish-Belgian Territories. These soldiers were renowned for their self-confidence, style and ostentatious pride, all qualities that reflect the gypsy character. During this class you will learn the technique and rhythmic patterns as part of simple choreographies, with special attention to feet exercises and other basic exercises. In this Flamenco Beginners class you will pick up the essential foot/heel rhythms, posture, strength and body control, as well as learning hand movements and expression.

Who is it for?
Anyone aged 16+ with or without dance experience.

What should I wear?
Comfortable clothes, preferably a flared skirt (women) or comfortable trousers (men). Women should wear comfortable shoes with a small heel or flamenco shoes, and men should wear a shoe with a boot heel.

What do I need to bring?
Bottle of water

Teacher: Estefanía Toro Carretero

Please let the ticket office know if you have any additional needs, if you feel comfortable in doing so. If you are pregnant, have an injury or an existing medical condition we would recommend that you seek professional advice before attending a class.

Sign up for our Newsletter

Subscribe!