Ballroom and Latin One (55+) - Dance City

Choose your venue

Newcastle Sunderland

Ballroom and Latin One (55+)

Learn Ballroom & Latin technique
Adult Class
Newcastle
Dates:
Wed 24 Apr 2024 12:30pm
Wed 01 May 2024 12:30pm
Wed 08 May 2024 12:30pm
Wed 15 May 2024 12:30pm
Wed 22 May 2024 12:30pm
Wed 29 May 2024 12:30pm
Wed 05 Jun 2024 12:30pm
Wed 12 Jun 2024 12:30pm
Wed 19 Jun 2024 12:30pm
Wed 26 Jun 2024 12:30pm
Wed 03 Jul 2024 12:30pm
Wed 10 Jul 2024 12:30pm
Wed 17 Jul 2024 12:30pm
Class times: Every Wednesday 12:30-13:30
About
Targets: Agility, coordination and stamina.

Class description: This class teaches partner dancing. This class focuses on the 10 standard Ballroom and Latin American dance styles with basic technique at the core. Explore the origins of each dance as you learn to waltz, quickstep, tango, foxtrot, Viennese waltz, cha cha cha , rumba, samba, jive and paso doble. Caroline will lead you through step by step instruction as she dances and interacts with all group participants, putting together simple routines to practice. This is a fun, informal way to learn and improve your technique and skills on the dance floor. If you attend as an individual you may like to partner with another person who is attending the class. However, you are welcome to dance the steps on your own if you prefer. You may be able to partner with the teacher, depending on their Covid safety preferences.

Who is it for? Anyone aged 55+.This class welcomes the beginner, improver and more advanced dancer.

What to wear? Comfortable clothing and shoes (no trainers). Women should wear a mid heeled shoe (no stilettos) that supports the foot. Men should wear a smart shoe they can turn in.

What do I need to bring? Appropriate shoes and a bottle of water.

Teacher Caroline Banks

Caroline began dancing, competing and performing aged 7 before going on to qualify professionally , teaching in Dance schools and regional venues. These days in Ballroom, she focuses on using good technique as the basis for advancement and flair. Caroline is also a qualified Tap dancing teacher experimenting with various styles and rhythms as well as a FITSTEPS instructor in which she incorporates a Strictly Come Dancing Fitness programme.

Please let the ticket office know if you have any additional needs, if you feel comfortable in doing so. If you have an injury or an existing medical condition we would recommend that you seek professional advice before attending a class.
Sign up for our Newsletter

Subscribe!