Contemporary Flow (55+) - Dance City

Choose your venue

Newcastle Sunderland

Contemporary Flow (55+)

Learn, improvise and find your flow
Adult Class
Newcastle
Dates:
Thu 18 Apr 2024 2:15pm
Thu 25 Apr 2024 2:15pm
Thu 02 May 2024 2:15pm
Thu 09 May 2024 2:15pm
Thu 16 May 2024 2:15pm
Thu 23 May 2024 2:15pm
Thu 30 May 2024 2:15pm
Thu 06 Jun 2024 2:15pm
Thu 13 Jun 2024 2:15pm
Thu 20 Jun 2024 2:15pm
Thu 27 Jun 2024 2:15pm
Thu 04 Jul 2024 2:15pm
Thu 11 Jul 2024 2:15pm
Thu 18 Jul 2024 2:15pm
Class times: Thursdays 2.15-3.15pm
About
Class description: Find your flow, release any tensions, and spark your creativity through a combination of guided improvisations and a discovery of different contemporary techniques with set exercises leading to a short phrase of movement. Activate a curiosity of oneself through play to discover how you want to move and to develop choreography in a relaxed and judgement-free environment. Get the body moving fluidly, work on core strength, general flexibility, coordination, and balance.

Who is it for? Anyone over the age of 55. Suitable for complete beginners as well as experienced movers.

Teacher: Emily-Fleur Peake

About the teacher:
Originally from Royal Wootton Bassett, Emily-Fleur moved to London to train at Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance, gaining a First Class Honours in Contemporary Dance. She furthered her training by completing her Masters in Advanced Dance Performance here, at Dance City, and has since been refining her practice as a Dance Artist; performing and teaching. She has always had a keen interest in teaching alongside performance and has been working in a variety of contexts across the North East for many years, teaching ages 5 to 93. She has a strong passion for working with mature dancers in the community believing everyone can, and should dance. Her classes are influenced by the Release and Cunningham techniques of Contemporary, building strength and flexibility whilst exploring fluidity by using our breath to aid our movement. She works to release tension, find freedom in our bodies and discover new patterns of moving, and most importantly aims to create a safe environment for all participants to find joy in moving together.
Sign up for our Newsletter

Subscribe!