Contemporary Thursday (16+) Newcastle - Dance City

Choose your venue

Newcastle Sunderland

Contemporary Thursday (16+) Newcastle

Choreograph together as a group
Adult Class
Newcastle
Dates:
Thu 24 Jan 2019 7:00pm
Thu 31 Jan 2019 7:00pm
Thu 07 Feb 2019 7:00pm
Thu 14 Feb 2019 7:00pm
Thu 21 Feb 2019 7:00pm
Thu 28 Feb 2019 7:00pm
Thu 07 Mar 2019 7:00pm
Thu 14 Mar 2019 7:00pm
Thu 21 Mar 2019 7:00pm
Thu 28 Mar 2019 7:00pm
Class times: Every Thursday 7.00pm-8.30pm
About
Comments
What is it?
This contemporary class works on introduction and extension into the creative process of contemporary dance with an emphasis on choreography. This class is open to people with every level of dance experience and those who want to learn choreography. We will begin with a warm up followed by a few contemporary exercises and creative tasks. As this is a performance led class the tutor will set a theme and music and then you will work together as a group to create a choreographic piece to perform at our end of term performance. Performance opportunities will be arranged throughout the year across the region.

Who is it for?
Anyone aged 16+ with any level of dance experience, and those who want to learn choreography.

What should I wear?
Comfortable clothing. Socks or bare feet.

What do I need to bring?
Bottle of water, towel.

Teacher
Michaela Wate began dancing at Dance City and having completed several years of training on Dance City's Centre for Advanced Training, she went on to receive a first class degree from the Scottish School of Contemporary Dance. Before returning to Newcastle, Michaela performed and toured with KaSt Dance Company and choreographed works for Duka Dance.

Please let the ticket office know if you have any additional needs, if you feel comfortable in doing so. If you are pregnant, have an injury or an existing medical condition we would recommend that you seek professional advice before attending a class.
Sign up for our Newsletter

Subscribe!